Herochat

Interesting bit from Ta-Nehisi Coates on writing comic characters

Kallor

• +8/-1
    • View Profile
I saw this in an interview on io9 and I very much agreed with his words.

Quote from: Ta-Nehisi Coates
I can’t write this book as Ta-Nehisi the essayist. I don’t think that would make for a very good Captain America. I have to accept Steve Rogers. It’s like acting; I try to write as an actor. I’m not really in the interpretive place where I ask how true the things Steve believes really are.

That’s the place of the essayist or the critic, but as a writer, I have to believe this dude. It’s the same way that I have to believe T’Challa, you know? I have my own thoughts about kings and queens, but I have to believe that T’Challa believes in Wakanda and the importance of royalty even as he struggles with it. I have to accept that in order to convincingly write the character.

It’s very, very easy to take a character and just filter your own thoughts through them, but that’s not what I wanna do.

- https://io9.gizmodo.com/ta-nehisi-coates-captain-america-is-a-timely-story-abou-1827366981

So many modern writers want to work out their issues at the expense of the character they're writing, often undermining the foundations of the franchise/mythos.  Coates also seems to understand that a good story idea does not necessarily make a good *insert character* story.

Panthergod

• +45/-82
    • View Profile
Re: Interesting bit from Ta-Nehisi Coates on writing comic characters
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2018, 11:03:25 AM »
He's learning from Priest..

80sBaby

• +32/-8
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2018, 11:47:03 AM »
Reading the 1st issue, I did get the feeling that he had Steve's "voice" down.

But I've read complaints about Coates Black Panther run and him injecting his own politics into it. I don't think that's the case but it's interesting that it is something he's thought about.

Panthergod

• +45/-82
    • View Profile