Herochat

How can America get fixed with the current primary system?

ProjectCornDog

• +11/-14
    • View Profile
« on: November 25, 2018, 10:51:45 AM »

States like Iowa and New Hampshire literally have more power over states like California, Texas, New York, etc etc. And I am not even against dividing the states up on different days, but so much time is in-between primary state voting that statistically it is usually decided by New Hampshire - South Carolina.

But why?

My job and what I do is I go to the bottom of a problem, analyze what it is and recommend a solution. One reason I stopped getting so politically involved (I have a political science degree for example) is that fundamental issues are rarely talked about. This is a problem BOTH parties have and in my opinion is a democratic issue. Most of the country is essentially not represented when deciding who will be the final nominees of the major parties to run our country.

If it wasn't for the primary setup we have today and places like Iowa didn't have so much influence randomly, we would never know of people like Rick Santorum (who would never win a major contest or even be close otherwise). The issues that impact those two states (Iowa and NH) wouldn't routinely become at the forefront of the elections.

What do you guys think? Should the primary system be changed or are things good to go?

ProjectCornDog

• +11/-14
    • View Profile
Re: How can America get fixed with the current primary system?
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2018, 10:52:32 AM »
Fuck, sorry guys.

I'm a bit too soberly-challenged at the moment and posted this in the wrong section.

Uhtceare

• +20/-8
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2018, 11:31:56 AM »